ABUJA CITY LEAGUE SET TO PRODUCE MORE STARS – Iornem

After successfully hosting the season 2 of the most glamorous domestic basketball league in the country, the organizers of the award winning Abuja City League are set to double their efforts and ensure next season’s City Leagues games become stronger and better.

Co-coordinator of the Abuja City League, Fanen Iornem declared that next season’s City League games would be a different ball game and efforts towards getting big sponsorship for the domestic league as been stepped up.

Speaking further, Fanen Iornem expressed his optimism about the prospects of the league if all and sundry support the domestic competition because of the accolades the league got after the end of the 2015 season.

He says that the City League is the only recognized private basketball league that has been on for 2 season without any interruption due to the organizational structure and the management style which has propelled the league to an enviable status.

Fanen Iornem appealed to Nigerians and corporate bodies to help sustain the City League through sponsorship.

Co-coordinator of the Abuja City Basketball League, Fanen Iornem

The Abuja City League has produced a lot of budding stars and great teams, some of the city league products now ply their trade with bigger teams in the Nigerian professional basketball league and some are also abroad continuing their basketball dreams.

All Stars basketball academy, 3rd best team at this year’s City league emerged the NBBF national division 2 league champions.

EATON AND DIBABA ARE CROWNED 2015 IAAF WORLD ATHLETES OF THE YEAR

USA’s Ashton Eaton and Ethiopia’s Genzebe Dibaba were named the male and female IAAF World Athletes of the Year for 2015 on Thursday (26).

Both athletes set world records during 2015, Eaton in the decathlon and Dibaba in the 1500m, and won gold medals in these events at the IAAF World Championships Beijing 2015.

Ashton Eaton became the first decathlete to win the male World Athlete of the Year award after his spectacular performance in the Chinese capital, his only decathlon of the year, when he set a world record of 9045 and improved his own three-year-old mark by nine points. Notable among his individual events in Beijing was a 45.00 400m at the end of the first day, the fastest one lap of the track ever run within a decathlon.

“Athletes spend the most vigorous years of human life, arguably called the ‘best years’, working to hone their abilities. So, when an athlete competes, what people are witnessing is the manifestation of what a human being is capable of when they choose to direct all of their time and effort towards something.

“I’m grateful and thankful to the IAAF for excellent competitions, the canvases that allow us to display our work.

“While I’m honoured that I am considered the ‘artist’ of the year, I did not beat Usain and Christian; my work simply differed in design. They are some of the most talented and beautiful performers of all time. I’m flattered to be among them.

“I accept this award on behalf of all of us athletes who love what we do.”

Genzebe Dibaba, after setting a world indoor 5000m record of 14:18.86, was then unbeaten in her five 1500m races during the summer. Firstly, she ran an African record of 3:54.11 in Barcelona, the fastest time in the world for almost 12 years, and then topped that with a stunning world record of 3:50.07 in Monaco to beat a mark that had been on the books since 1993. In Beijing, Dibaba was majestic through all three rounds of the 1500m, winning every race comfortably, and she also took a 5000m bronze medal.

“I am humbled and honoured to receive this award from the IAAF,” said Dibaba. “It feels so good to be the World Athlete of the Year.

“After being a finalist and narrowly missing out on this award one year ago, I am very proud to be recognised by the fans and experts of our sport.

“I had a great season and truly enjoyed competing around the world, from Monaco where I managed to establish a world record, to Beijing where I finally captured my first world outdoor title.

“I would like to pay tribute to Dafne Schippers and Anita Wlodarczyk who have been incredible all year round. Maybe your time will come next year!

“Thank you to all the people who voted for me and supported me. My family, my sisters, my coaches, my partners, my agents and all the people from Ethiopia!

“My focus in 2016 will be the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Portland and as preparation for that I will try to break the world indoor mile record in Stockholm on 17 February.

“This is a difficult time for our sport and with the Athletes’ Commission we stand together with Sebastian Coe as he deals with the challenges.”

EATON AND DIBABA ARE CROWNED 2015 IAAF WORLD ATHLETES OF THE YEAR © Giancarlo Colombo / IAAF
EATON AND DIBABA ARE CROWNED 2015 IAAF WORLD ATHLETES OF THE YEAR © Giancarlo Colombo / IAAF

IAAF President Sebastian Coe commented: “While the athletics family is not gathering together as usual in Monaco, we rightly celebrate the marvellous 2015 achievements of the athletes. Foremost, I offer congratulations to our World Athletes of the Year, world champions Ashton Eaton and Genzebe Dibaba. Your performances in 2015 are an inspiration and examples of true sporting excellence.

“A world record when winning a world title is a rare feat and capped two unequalled days of decathlon brilliance from Ashton in Beijing. Genzebe, your win in Beijing was as assured and your 1500m world record a few weeks earlier a run of true grit and determination. We salute you both as we do all our award winners who have been announced today.

“Finally I wish to thank all the athletes, coaches, officials who work tirelessly for our wonderful sport. Our appreciation also goes to the media for relaying the excitement of competition and to the fans watching in stadiums, in homes and on the move around the world. Your enthusiastic support made the IAAF World Championships in Beijing the most talked about sports event of the year.”

How the award was decided

Last month the IAAF Family* was asked to vote for athletes from each of the following categories: sprints, hurdles, middle and long distance, road running, race walking, jumps, throws, combined events and multi-terrain.

The top-voted athletes in each category formed the longlist for the World Athlete of the Year, from which an international panel of 10 experts** selected the three finalists. The panel cast their own vote to determine the IAAF World Athletes of the Year.

Australian Paralympic Sailors Ready For World Championship Challenge

Australia’s leading Paralympic sailors are ready for the challenge that awaits them when racing starts at the Para World Sailing Championships in Williamstown, Melbourne this Saturday (28 January).

More than 140 sailors from 31 nations are in Melbourne, Australia’s sporting capital, competing across three Paralympic classes out of the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria.

Every athlete sailing in Williamstown has overcome personal challenges and battles. London 2012 Paralympic Games gold medallists Dan Fitzgibbon and Liesl Tesch in the SKUD18 and 2.4mR sailor Matt Bugg have all faced tough obstacles through life changing injuries. Not one of them has let that get in their way as they seek out greatness.

Fitzgibbon suffered serious spinal injuries in 1997 which left him a quadriplegic. With Olympic aspirations in advance of his injury, Fitzgibbon swiftly moved into the Paralympic pathway as he explained, “I was a sailor before my accident and I was sailing the 420 and 470s, Sabot and all the way through. I was living the Olympic dream and I wanted to go to the Olympics.

“I was competing in Sail Sydney in 1997 and I had an accident at one of the yacht clubs there during the regatta and I had to change my focus from the Olympic dream to the Paralympic dream.

“It took a bit of time but we found a way in and developed the boat with seating and steering so I could sail the Paralympic boats. I continued my dream in a little bit of a different direction.”

Fitzgibbon and Tesch (c) Bernie Kaaks
Fitzgibbon and Tesch (c) Bernie Kaaks

Fitzgibbon ventured into his Paralympic campaigning with a clear vision and started in the right way by winning gold in the Hansa Liberty class at the 2004 IFDS Single-Person Dinghy World Championship (Class A).

“Setting a goal is what I have always done,” explained Fitzgibbon. “I think if someone with a disability has a goal just go out and do it. Just start and get experience and enjoy it. It’s important to enjoy sailing and surround yourself with good fun people and go out and do it. It can take a long time but be patient. I’ve been sailing all my life and it’s taken me a long time to get any good.”

Fitzgibbon was certainly good four years on from the 2004 IFDS Worlds as he achieved his dream at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games where he won silver in the SKUD18 with Rachael Cox. Four years later he realised the ultimate, by taking a convincing victory at London 2012 with Tesch.

Much like Fitzgibbon, Tesch changed course to be involved with Paralympic sailing but it wasn’t the first time she had flown the Australian flag, “I first represented Australia in wheelchair basketball when I was 20-years-old in France,” commented Tesch. “Five Paralympics in basketball later I got a gold medal in sailing from London 2012.”

Tesch competed at Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 in wheelchair basketball, winning silver in 2000 and 2004 and bronze in 2008. A golden shine was missing from her cabinet but a chance spot by Fitzgibbon gave Tesch a fantastic opportunity to go for gold.

“I broke my back in a push bike accident when I was 19 and I played wheelchair basketball for five Paralympics,” said Tesch. “I was then invited to do the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race where Dan Fitzgibbon, Paralympic silver medallist in Beijing, spotted this wheelchair basketballer heading to Sydney and gave me a call.

“And now, here I am,” smiled Tesch.

Fitzgibbon and Tesch have formed a strong bond and have remained unbeaten since London 2012 and will be aiming to continue that run on their home waters in Melbourne. Tesch concluded by saying, “We’re looking forward to lining up with the best teams in the world in front of our home crowd and the event will be another great positive step in our Paralympic preparation. And no pressure on us as the defending World Champions…. well, the big target will be on our back after our Paralympic Gold medal first, then 2014 World Champion and our season so far, so watch this space.”

Australian 2.4mR sailor Matt Bugg was involved in a snowboarding accident when he was 24 which left him a paraplegic. A keen sailor before the accident, progression into Paralympic sailing was a natural step for Bugg who was exposed to the sport before he could even crawl.

“Funnily enough my first sailing experience was as a baby on my father’s 30 foot yacht,” said Bugg. “He had a boat called Humbug that he used to sail the Sydney Hobart and Melbourne Hobart races. I’ve been sailing since I was four weeks old.

“As I grew up sailing as a kid, in dinghies, I was already well and truly a sailor. I broke my back when I was 24 in a snowboarding accident and after that it was just a natural fit to go into Paralympic yachting.”

Bugg has made steady progression in the one-person keelboat event since a 16th at his first world championship in 2010. A fourth in 2013 and a fifth in 2014 has shown Bugg that he is on the right path, “My goal is to win a Paralympic medal in Rio, obviously but sailing, for me, is purely about being out on the water. I love being on the water and around it. Also yacht racing is the best kind of racing I have ever done. I love the tactical side of it and the smart side of it.”

Matt Bugg (c) Bernie Kaaks
Matt Bugg (c) Bernie Kaaks

Bugg remains a focused character, aiming to become one of the best Paralympic sailors in the world and finished with some strong tips for aspirant Paralympic sailors, “My advice to anyone with a disability that likes to look at Paralympic sailing and wants to get into it is to get on the internet, have a look on the Para World Sailing website and have a look around for local Paralympic sailing regattas that are near to where they live.

“And just come and talk to the sailors, talk to me, talk to the coaches and they will be more than happy to put you in a boat.”

Followers can head down to the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria to meet Bugg, Fitzgibbon and Tesch first hand with Williamstown racing scheduled to commence at 13:00 on Saturday 28 November.

I Want To Be A Boxing Icon – Fijabi

Rising Light welterweight boxing star and winner of GOtv Boxing Night Best Boxer Award, Olaide “Fijaborn” Fijabi, says he aims to be a world champion and an iconic figure

Why did you choose boxing?

Actually, I never liked boxing not until a particular day when a friend bullied me. I got home and my parents chastised me. I was then forced to learn how to box and to the glory of God, I’m now a professional boxer.

Did your parents support your decision to go into boxing?

No, they didn’t.

At what stage did it dawn you that you will become a professional boxer?

As an amateur boxer, I was national champion three times. I also won eight gold medals at the National Sports Festivals. I was convinced that I had seen it all at that level and I decided to turn professional. I was a gold medalist in 2007 and 2008, but the funniest thing was that I was never picked to represent Nigeria. I thought the coaches were not comfortable with me, so I decided to turn professional.

Why do you think you were not picked to represent the country?

I don’t know. I ruled the amateur cadre for a decade and no boxer ever defeated me. I remain the undisputed champion. You can go and check the records. No boxer in my weight category ever defeated me.

Why did it take you so long to turn professional?

I never thought of turning professional if not for the coming of GOtv Boxing Night and Flykite. I said so because when I saw the way boxers before me were living hand to mouth, I thought it was better to remain an amateur because I don’t want to live like them. When my coaches told me of the package the GOtv Boxing Night was offering, it was impossible to reject it.

Two professional fights and two wins, how will you rate yourself?

I don’t want to see myself as a champion yet because there is still more to come. My ambition, however, is to be a world champion in my category and I will be.

Olaide Fijabi, winner of a trophy and One Million Naira during 3rd GOtv Boxing Night held at the Indoor Sports Hall of National Stadium Surulere, Lagos.
Olaide Fijabi, winner of a trophy and One Million Naira during 3rd GOtv Boxing Night held at the Indoor Sports Hall of National Stadium Surulere, Lagos.

You were adjudged the best boxer on your debut at the second edition of the GOtv Boxing Night. How did you feel?

I felt good because I never knew I would be selected as the boxer of the night

In your second fight at the GOtv Boxing Night, you also emerged the best boxer and got a prize of N1 million. How did you spend it?

I spent it judiciously. I bought myself some training kits and did some donations to some people that are less privileged. The rest was used to cater for some other things.

What should your fans look out for when you fight at the next edition of the GOtv Boxing Night in December?

It is the same message I always have for my fans: I will win. For my opponent: He should be prepared for more beating. Whoever my opponent is next month will see fire.

Who is your role model?

My role model is nobody but Floyd Mayweather Jnr. I love the way he fights in the ring and I enjoy watching his fight and I learn some boxing skills from him.

FLOYD MAYWEATHER JR photo credit: PrizeFights.com https://www.flickr.com/photos/prizefights/16166145214/
FLOYD MAYWEATHER JR
photo credit: PrizeFights.com
https://www.flickr.com/photos/prizefights/16166145214/

What message do you have for boxing lovers?

I don’t want them to see boxers as thugs or street urchins. I also want them to come out in their numbers to come and watch the best of boxing in the next edition of the GOtv Boxing Night at the Indoor Sports Hall, National Stadium, Lagos State.

How many are you in your family?
I really don’t want to comment on that. The family name is what I strive everyday to make ensure it becomes bigger.

BULLET ENERGY DRINK , SAMUEL OGUCHE TEAM UP WITH MARK D BALL TOURNAMENT

Bullets Energy Drink and Ex-Basketball International, Samuel Oguche would be supporting kids at the forth coming Mark d’ ball annual basketball tournament which is scheduled for Oturkpo this December between 26th to the 31st.

Bullets Energy drink held 3 separate basketball youth camps in Nigeria this season and would hold 5 more camps in 2016.

Samuel Oguche stated that Bullet Energy would join forces with the organizers of Mark d ball tournament to bring hope to Nigerian kids through basketball.

Bullets Energy drink as usual would provide gift items like, T-shirts, Balls, basketball shoes and other souvenirs.

BULLET ENERGY DRINK , SAMUEL OGUCHE TEAM UP WITH MARK D BALL TOURNAMENT
BULLET ENERGY DRINK , SAMUEL OGUCHE TEAM UP WITH MARK D BALL TOURNAMENT

He stressed that his passion for the game and the commitment of Bullets Energy drink has made it possible for many kids in Nigeria to play basketball at the grassroots.

Bullet Energy has remained the leading light of the nation’s grassroots basketball development.

TOP BASKETBALLERS AND CELEBRITIES READY FOR MARK D BALL TOURNAMENT

The nation’s top basketballers and A rated musical artists have confirmed their participation at the forthcoming Mark d ball basketball tournament holding in the city of Otukpo, Benue state between 26th and 31st of December 2015.

Olympian Ejike Ugbuaja, Former D’tigers captain Tunji Awojobi, Mark Mentors Skipper Stanley Gumut and other professional basketballers based at home and abroad are ready to storm Otukpo for the tournament.

The tournament has become an household name to most kids in Nigeria and the organizers promised to make it a December to remember for them.

The glitz and blitz of the tournament would be brought to the front burner when the likes of Tu-face and MI hit the stage, not forgetting a comedy session by Seyi Law, Fred Bright and others.

mark dball, basketball

The initiator of the most prestigious basketball tournament in Nigeria Igochie Mark said he expects more sponsors to pull their weight behind the tournament so that Nigerian kids can have a memorable december while playing basketball.

Igoche stressed further that every thing is in place to ensure a good outing throughout the period of the tournament and spectators will be treated to a once in a life time experience this December.

ARAF ACCEPTS FULL SUSPENSION – IAAF COUNCIL MEETING, MONACO

The full suspension of ARAF and the formation of an IAAF Integrity Unit were confirmed today at the 202nd IAAF Council Meeting in Monaco.

The meeting was chaired by IAAF President Sebastian Coe. Two members were absent: individual member Mikhail Butov (RUS) and African Area Association representative David Okeyo (KEN).

In his opening address Sebastian Coe said: “We must work hard to restore trust and to show the real values and potential of Athletics. We have a unique opportunity now to face the future with optimism. Let us make sure that we have the right people, in the right places and the right structure to take the sport to a better place.”

ARAF SUSPENSION

Council was informed that written confirmation had been received from ARAF accepting their full suspension without requesting a hearing as was their constitutional right.

ARAF confirmed they understood that Council would only accept their reinstatement as an IAAF Member Federation following the recommendation of the IAAF Inspection Team who will decide if the verification criteria have been fulfilled. ARAF also confirmed they will cooperate fully and actively with the team.

Council discussed the process which over the next three weeks will lead to a final set of criteria and the verification process. The plan is to present a detailed list of verification criteria to ARAF by the end of the year.

REALLOCATION OF 2016 COMPETITIONS

Council agreed a process for the reallocation of the two IAAF World Athletics Series competitions – 2016 World Race Walking Team Championships (Cheboksary, RUS) and 2016 World Junior Championships (Kazan, RUS) – which have been removed from Russia due to ARAF’s suspension.

A number of countries have already expressed interest in staging these events. An accelerated bidding process will open next week with a decision in early January.

OTHER MATTERS

Council agreed to the formation of an Integrity Unit to keep Athletics clean and to safeguard the integrity of the IAAF.

Reports were presented to Council from all the IAAF departments.

Sebastian Coe also briefed his colleagues about changes which have taken place in Monaco since he took office as president on 31 August.

The annual contract which provided a permanent serviced apartment in the five star Fairmont Hotel for the President’s use had been cancelled immediately on his taking office.

The IAAF President’s office ‘Villa Miraflores’ has also been closed and handed back to the Principality of Monaco. All IAAF staff personnel formerly based there have now transferred to the IAAF HQ Office on Quai Antoine.

IAAF © Philippe Fitte
IAAF © Philippe Fitte

DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Sebastian Coe encouraged all his Council colleagues to complete their declarations of interest and, as he said he would do, announced the following changes to his registration of interests:

– He has stepped down from his ambassador role with Nike as the current noise level around this ambassadorial role was not good for the IAAF nor Nike.

– He is Chairman of CSM, one of the world’s largest sports marketing agencies operating in 19 countries. Although CSM’s revenue from athletics is negligible, the company has agreed that it will not tender for, nor directly work for the IAAF, nor any city in relation to their tender to the IAAF while he is President of the IAAF.

– He will step down as Chairman of the British Olympic Association at the conclusion of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

DETERMINED TO REPAIR FAILURES AND REBUILD TRUST

Commenting on behalf of the Council, new Council Member Stephanie Hightower said: “We know we need to re build trust with our fans and this will be a long journey.”

“But we also need to show our athletes that we are serious about supporting clean athletes and will not tolerate cheating at any level.”

“The whole system has failed the athletes. We need to better understand the triggers and flags that will enable us to identify problems early and fix them sooner.”

“All my council colleagues are determined to repair the failures and rebuild trust amongst athletes and fans.”

IAAF

Valbuena Hits Out At Benzema: “I Wouldn’t Do That To My Worst Enemy”

Mathieu Valbuena has hit out at Karim Benzema, describing his behaviour in the sex tape blackmail as “disappointing”: “I wouldn’t do that to my worst enemy”.

“His words show a lack of respect. I respect everyone, but I feel as though he took me for a fool. I can’t defend the indefensible” Valbuena said

The Les Bleus midfielder, in his first statement since the scandal became public, did not hold back, accusing Benzema of arranging a meeting between him and a middleman whom he described as “a very serious, reliable” person, who was completely trustworthy.

Mathieu Valbuena photo credit: Dudek1337 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/legalcode
Mathieu Valbuena
photo credit: Dudek1337
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/legalcode

Mathieu Valbuena also added: “he repeated to me many times that I was dealing with ‘some bad people’. He told me, ‘It’s still quite hot this video. You must be strong. Ok, so he also said, “If you don’t want that, it’s no problem. But I can introduce you to my friend.”

Valbuena, however did not rule out playing alongside him with France because “sporting and legal matters must be kept apart”.

Newfanzone Bookies Corner (Game week 14)

Bookies corner returns for week 14 action after some teams have participated in the UEFA Champions League and the Europa League Competitions. Some teams however have been on break during this period and it could be an advantage as the various league actions resume in the top 5 leagues.

Tobi Olubiyi’s (@tobipreety) predictions:

Paris Saint-Germain, psg

French Ligue 1

PSG VS TROYES – PSG WIN: Runaway league leaders PSG have been tearing apart opponents as the matches come by, a 5 nil away win against Swedish team Malmo was the latest of their onslaught as the attacking force of Ibrahimović, Cavani, Lucas Moura and Di Maria have been unstoppable so far this season. They are yet to taste defeat in the league this season, a record shared with Bundesliga Champions Bayern Munich in the top 5 leagues.
This would be a comfortable home win for the Parisians at the Parc des Princes where they have not lost a league game since May 2014.

ANGERS VS LILLE – UNDER 2.5 GOALS: There have been less than 3 goals scored in 13 of the last 14 games involving Lille this season. Having scored just 8 league goals in 14 games they also don’t give away so many goals as they have only conceded 9 goals so far. Their opponents Angers also don’t score much as they have scored just 12 goals in 14 games conceding 9 goals in the same time. Both teams are joint second on the least goals conceded so far this season with table toppers PSG conceding a mere 7 goals.
I see this as a low scoring game, though the result could go either way and I predict a total of less than 3 goals would be scored in this match.

Chelsea's Eden Hazard takes on Norwich City's Jonny Howson photo credit: Ben Sutherland https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode
Chelsea’s Eden Hazard takes on Norwich City’s Jonny Howson
photo credit: Ben Sutherland
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode

English Premier League

TOTTENHAM VS CHELSEA- TOTTENHAM WIN/DRAW: Only one team has defeated Spurs so far this season, it was a 1 nil defeat by Manchester United at Old Trafford on the opening day courtesy of an own goal. Since then Pochettino’s men have been unbeatable playing 12 matches without loosing including a 4-1 win against Man City . Chelsea on the other hand have had a season to forget as they languish in 15th place and holding the record of the worst start by a defending champion. They have only won 4 matches all season loosing 7 matches and have spent most of the season battling relegation rather than fighting to retain the league title. I don’t see Chelsea getting a win at White Hart Lane as a resurgent Harry Kane who is a nemesis to the Chelsea defence would pose a lot of threat going forward for Tottenham

MANCHESTER CITY VS SOUTHAMPTON- MANCHESTER CITY WIN: Pellegrini’s men have had a blip in form recently, failing to win in any of their last 3 matches collapsing like a pack of cards in front of their home fans against Liverpool last time out thus leaving them 2 places away from the top of the table. Southampton have had a rollercoaster season winning 5 matches in 13 games, a trip to the Etihad stadium would be coming at a wrong time when they are just gathering momentum having lost just 1 game in their last 5 matches. I see Manchester City with a fit Sergio Aguero grinding out a win and putting pressure on the league leaders Leicester City.

AS Roma logo

Italian Serie A

ROMA VS ATALANTA – ROMA WIN: 4th placed Roma have not done much wrong in the Serie A this season and the Scudetto favourites are just 3 points away from top spot. Rudi Garcia’s men never look like loosing in front of their home fans and they are yet to loose at the Stadio Olimpico this season despite playing tough oppositions like Juventus, Barcelona, Bayern Leverkusen and arch rivals Lazio. Atalanta has only 1 away win all season, so a trip to the Stadio Olimpico which has become a fortress would be an uphill task. I tip Roma to get a win inspired by the good form of Salah, Iturbe, Dzeko and Pjanic who have played well for them this season.

PALERMO VS JUVENTUS WIN- JUVENTUS WIN: The old ladies had a night mare start to their scudetto defence this season but they seem to have gotten their season on an upward thrust as they are unbeaten in their last 5 matches in all competitions including a win against English Giants Manchester City in a crucial top of the table clash in the Champions League. Star striker Dyabala would be returning to face his old side and eyes would be on him if he would be able to sting his former team. Palermo haven’t been in the best for this season with just 4 wins from 13 games, they have also failed to win against Juventus in their last 6 matches. I believe Juventus will do enough to get a win away from home, their firepower will be too much for Palermo to contain.

FC Barcelona  photo credit: Nathan Rupert https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode
FC Barcelona
photo credit: Nathan Rupert
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode

Spanish La Liga

BARCELONA VS REAL SOCIEDAD – BARCELONA WIN: Barcelona are the most inform team in Europe’s top 5 leagues at the moment putting different clubs to the sword and scoring a lot of goals even during the absence of star player Lionel Messi. Suarez and Neymar have carried the burden of leading the club to glory as they have not lost in their last 9 games scoring 32 goals in the process including 4 goals against Real Madrid and 6 goals against Roma. Sociedad have just parted ways with Coach David Moyes and have lost 3 of their last 5 games. The deadly trio of Messi, Suarez and Neymar will all be available for selection in this match and I expect them to inspire Barcelona to another dominating victory at the Camp nou where Soceidad have not won in 14 matches.

SEVILLA VS VALENCIA- BOTH TEAMS SCORE: This is a game where both teams usually score each other as they are known to attack. In the last 6 matches between these two sides both teams have failed to score only on one occasion. Unai Emery’s men are in a very bad form at the moment winning just 1 of their last 5 matches which was surprisingly against Real Madrid. Valencia have not been too fantastic themselves, currently sitting 7th on the log 4 points and 4 places above their opponents Sevilla. This is a difficult game to call, but I see both teams getting on the score sheet.

Borussia Dortmund
Borussia Dortmund

German Bundesliga

BORUSSIA DORTMUND VS STUTTGART- DORTMUND WIN: After 7 straight victories, 2nd placed Dortmund suffered a shock defeat in their last league game away at Hamburg in a game many felt they would get a result. The yellow submarines would be playing against relegation strugglers Stuttgart at the Segunde Igunda Park in front of their ever present and loud supporters. I expect them to get back into winning ways with an emphatic victory and putting pressure on Bayern Munich. Stuttgart are facing a team they are yet to win against in 6 league meetings.
With the form of attackers Reus, Aubameyang and Kagawa, I expect the BVB to get a solid win in this fixture.

BAYERN LEVERKUSEN VS SCHALKE 04- DRAW: Bayern Leverkusen played out a shambolic and disappointing draw against BATE Borisov in the Champions League and it would be a tough ask for them to quickly get such a horrid game behind them quite quickly. They still have a chance to progress from their group albeit against “Almighty Barcelona” in their last group game at home, so that could influence their performances in other competitions prior to that match. Schalke are currently sitting 7th on the log just behind their opponents with both teams on 20 points. It is difficult to tear these two teams apart so I would be going for a brave draw.

THE SUN Eulogizes, Presents Letter Of Award To Pinnick

One of the nation’s leading media houses, THE SUN, on Thursday extolled the efforts of the present NFF administration led by Amaju Melvin Pinnick, at the presentation of the letter of award to the NFF President as Sports Personality of the Year.

At a simple but inpressive ceremony at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, the media giant’s Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief, Mr. Eric Osagie, made it clear that the award is usually presented to a sportsman or woman, or an administrator, “whose achievements during the period in review had elevated Nigeria sports to heights hitherto unknown.”

NFF President Amaju Pinnic  THE With Members of THE SUN
NFF President Amaju Pinnic THE With Members of THE SUN

Osagie reeled out the on-field and off-field achievements of the Pinnick–led NFF, which swayed the Board of Editors: capacity –building programs for referees, coaches and administrators; prioritization of the welfare of players and officials of the National Teams; excellent policies that have improved and elevated the domestic League; qualification of Nigerian National Teams for major international competitions; signing of an agreement with a global brand, NIKE, for the kitting of the National Teams; successful campaigns of the National Teams at various global and continental championships; FIFA and CAF elite courses for coaches and referees and; a lofty U-13 and U-15 youth program determined to create a pool of talented footballers to feed the various National Teams in the near future.

“THE SUN Awards have been on for the past 13 years, and over the years, we have done everything necessary to maintain its integrity. A lot of rigour goes into the selection process. Nominations are made and then each candidate is subject to scrutiny in a way that only the very best would emerge.

“THE SUN Awards is blind to ethnicity, religious or other base sentiments. It is merit that wins at the end of the day. We believe that as a country, we cannot continue to dwell on negatives. Those who have shown excellence and a spirit for innovation should be encouraged so that they can do much more.”

Responding, NFF President Pinnick said he was humbled by the honour, but hugely encouraged to continue unruffled in the task of working with other members of the NFF Board and Management to taking Nigeria football to new heights.

NFF President Amaju Pinnick with Eric Osagie Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief The SUN
NFF President Amaju Pinnick with Eric Osagie Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief The SUN

“I want to dedicate this award to the Members of the NFF Executive Committee, Management and the Congress. They give me a lot of encouragement to keep going, even in the face of odds.

“I want to assure you that ourselves in the Board and Management are dedicated to doing even much more to herald a new dawn in the Nigeria game. Honours like this serve as tonic to keep going strong.”

THE SUN Awards Ceremony, 13th edition, will hold in Lagos on February 20, 2016.

ITF and BNP Paribas Extend Sponsorship

The International Tennis Federation and BNP Paribas announced today that they have renewed their partnership for an additional five-year period, commencing in 2017 through 2021.

The agreement includes the sponsorship of Davis Cup by BNP Paribas and Fed Cup by BNP Paribas as well as sponsorship of Junior Davis Cup and Junior Fed Cup by BNP Paribas, ITF wheelchair tennis activities, and the biennial Worldwide Coaches Conference.

The announcement was made in Ghent at the 2015 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Final between Belgium and Great Britain. The formal signing of the contract will be held in Ghent on 28 November with ITF President David Haggerty and BNP Paribas Chief Executive Officer Jean-Laurent Bonnafé.

“With BNP Paribas, we will celebrate our 15th year of partnership in 2016,” said ITF President David Haggerty. “Their long running love affair with tennis, that started in 1973 with Roland Garros, has benefited our sport in countless ways. BNP Paribas is an excellent strategic partner and, with this renewal of our contract, we will take Davis Cup by BNP Paribas and Fed Cup by BNP Paribas and our other properties to new levels of global popularity and success.”

ITF, TENNIS, BNP PARIBAS

Jean-Laurent Bonnafé, BNP Paribas Chief Executive Officer, said: “BNP Paribas is proud to have been the title sponsor, for more than a decade, of the Davis Cup and Fed Cup by BNP Paribas, which are among the most prestigious tennis competitions in the world. Over three days of competition, the tournament incites great emotions among tennis fans. For BNP Paribas, this partnership is a fantastic support for the visibility of our brand and the relationship with our clients. We are delighted to renew our strategic partnership with the ITF and to support the continued development of these great competitions to ensure they attract more players and more fans than ever before.”

BNP Paribas joined the Davis Cup family of sponsors in 2001, taking over as title sponsor of the competition in 2002. In 2005, BNP Paribas became title sponsor of Fed Cup by BNP Paribas.