Chung Mong-Joon withdraws from FIFA Presidencial race

Chung Mong-joon has officially withdrawn from the race to become the next president of FIFA.

The South Korean was handed a six-year ban from all football-related activity over a number of infringements during the bidding process for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups.

The former FIFA Vice-president confirmed earlier this month that he will launch an appeal in regard to the ban with the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS).

“Because of the Ethics Committee’s unjust sanctions, I will have to miss the October 26 deadline to file my candidacy, even though I can no longer stand for FIFA President, there is much left for me to do. I will continue to work with all those who love football to bring about legitimate changes from within FIFA.” Chung said in a statement.

Leave a comment