12 Year Old Japanese Becomes Youngest Ever Qualifier for ITTF World Tour Main Draw

Japan’s Tomokazu HARIMOTO is now the youngest ever player to qualify for the main draw of an ITTF World Tour event at the age of 12 years, 3 months and 26 days, after topping his group at the GAC Group 2015 ITTF World Tour Polish Open qualifications.

HARIMOTO accomplished the achievement after beating Croatia’s TAN Ruiwu 4-3 (8-11, 16-14, 11-9, 11-9, 3-11, 13-15, 11-9) in an intense 7-game thriller in the qualifications stage. Earlier yesterday, he beat Czech Republic’s Tomas POLANSKY 4-0.

“I’m happy that I’m the youngest to ever make it to the main draw,” shared an elated Japanese. “I started playing table tennis when I was only 2 years old, because of my parents. They were table tennis players too, and they inspired me to play. When I was a little boy, I would sit on a chair and try to play table tennis, now, I practise 9 hours every day!”

“Now I will join my idol FAN Zhendong in the main draw, and I hope I can win as many matches as I can here in Warsaw! Regardless it’s junior or senior level, I want to play my highest level.”

Tomokazu Harimoto becomes youngest ever qualifier for main draw of an ITTF World Tour event
Tomokazu Harimoto becomes youngest ever qualifier for main draw of an ITTF World Tour event

“Even though I won against TAN Ruiwu, and finished first in my group here, my block is still not perfect, and it’s one area that I will have to improve on.”

Qualified for the men’s singles main draw, HARIMOTO will now face 2015 World Champion, MA Long in the Round of 32 tomorrow. Main draw for the Polish Open will begin from 23 Oct – 25 Oct, with the final battle for gold on Sunday, 25 October.

Leave a comment