RIVERS ANGELS PUT TWO PASS SUNSHINE QUEENS

Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt recorded a 2-0 victory over Sunshine Queens in a rescheduled week 6 game of the Nigeria Women Football League today.

Ngozi Ebere scored from the spot in the 30th minute after Amarachi Ojinma was brought down inside the box before Ayila Loveth made it 2-0 in the 65th when she curled in a cross from the right angle which tossed pass goalkeeper Funke Okewole

The 2014 NWFL Champions still top Group B with 28 points with two more games to go before the season wraps up

After the game, Angels coach, Edwin Okon had this to say

Rivers Angels Coach Edwin Okon
Rivers Angels Coach Edwin Okon

“I thank God for the result, I needed the three points just for Rivers Angels to remain on top and I am happy”

“If I can get this kind of officiating, I learnt that people say that I and Stanley complain so much, we complain because we travel and we see a lot of things, am thanking goodness the media that is attached to this team, is one of the best thing that has happened to this team, Rivers Angels, if I’ve been complaining, at least the media can as well tell the truth, so I think if I can get this officiating just like what we saw here over there, I think we will still remain top of the table” Edwin Okon said.

Sunshine Queens’ coach, kayode Olujuyigbe
Sunshine Queens’ coach, kayode Olujuyigbe

Coach of Sunshine Queens, Kayode Olujohungbe on his part, faulted the penalty awarded to Rivers Angels

“Very fine game, both sides did well but the first goal you know wasn’t a fair penalty, in a million years that’s not a penalty but the second goal was okay, my goalkeeper was very careless, the second goal was fair, that was a good goal but the first goal, that was no penalty, so we lost concentration a bit, we would have equalized if we had concentrated more, so that dubious goal really destabilized us a bit but am not giving excuses” said the gaffer.

Rivers Angels next game will be against Taraba Queens on Saturday in Port Harcourt

Leave a comment