Lagos ITTF World Tour: Oshonaike Target First World Tour Title

For more than two decades, Olufunke Oshonaike has represented Nigeria at various international tournaments and up till now, she still has a lot in her offing.

At 39, the Germany-based athlete still believes she has what it takes to clinch the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) World Tour tagged Lagos Open.

After two attempts at claiming the title, Oshonaike made the last four in 2013 but she was knocked out in the quarterfinal in 2014. However, the former African champion is determined to lead the Nigerian against the visiting Egyptians when the tournament serves off on March 10 at the Molade Okoya-Thomas Hall of Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos.

“I know that by God’s grace if I play well without stress, nothing than the gold but the Nigerian factor is always affecting me. Above all I want to have a wonderful time. she said.

“I don’t want to disappoint my fans and I am confident that Nigerian players will defeat all the Egyptians. They (Egyptians) must also realize that they have a lot of players to contend with in Nigeria just like we were dealt with in Cairo recently,” she boasted.

Funke Oshonaike
Funke Oshonaike

She also expressed optimism that ITTF Star Player, Aruna Quadri would be ready to rub shoulders with the North African warlords.

As one of the oldest players that took part in the just concluded ITTF Africa Senior Championships in Cairo, Oshonaike is a force to reckon with in the sport as her records in the continent stand her out. However, her passion and commitment to her father’s land is unequalled.

“I knew that for me to wear the colours of Nigeria, it is a rare privilege which I must guide jealously and this has been my philosophy when I joined the national team in 1988 after winning All Secondary Championships in Lagos. My love for the game is second to none and I don’t hide my dedication to Nigeria at every time I am called upon,” she said.

The journey to stardom for the mother of two started at Igbobi Girls High School in Somolu, Lagos, where she dominated table tennis to the extent of becoming the national champion as a teenager.

Leave a comment