Quadri Bows Out Gallantly At Quarter-Final Stage Of Liebherr Men’s World Cup In Germany

ITTF
ITTF

Nigeria’s Quadri Aruna has crashed out at the quarter-final stage of the Liebherr Men’s World Cup holding in Dusseldorf, Germany.

Quadri Seeded 17 in this tournament lost to the most successful Table Tennis Player on the Planet China’s Zhang Jike, who is seeded No.2 and he is also the reigning Olympic and World champion.

Quadri was however not disgraced as he stretched the bout to six games (6-11, 11-7, 11-4, 11-7, 8-11, 11-8).

After the match Zhang Jike said:“The match was very competitive; Quadri Aruna is a good player”, said Zhang Jike. “When he won the first game I did not understand his style but when we got into the second game I adapted and I started to win.”

 Aruna QUADRI photo Photo credit: Ina Fassbender/ITTF
Aruna QUADRI photo Photo credit: Ina Fassbender/ITTF

Nigeria’s Aruna Quadri said: “It was the first time I have played against a Chinese player and it was not one-sided”, added Aruna Quadri. “It is also a dream come true for me in this competition; beating three top players in a row is good for my career, I will continue to work hard with what I have been able to achieve at this World Cup.”

Quadri had earlier defeated no.12 seed Kenta Matsudaira from Japan (11-3, 7-11, 11-6, 5-11, 11-2, 13-11) and no.14 seed Alexander Shibaev of Russia (11-6, 11-7, 11-4, 11-8) on the opening day of play to secure first place in his group.

Leave a comment